Come and See, Go and Tell

It has been more than four years since I made my first trip to Palestine with a tour group led by my friend Sr. Paulette and her ministry Project Peace.  Now here I sit at Toronto airport with Paulette and a new group of travelers.  I promised I’d go back some time, because I knew I hadn’t yet accomplished what I’d set out to do back in 2013.  Daoud Nassar, a Palestinian farmer/activist from Tent of Nations near Bethlehem, had challenged us back then:  “Come and see; go and tell.”  I had come and I had seen, but I still had not done enough to tell what I had learned.

On the first leg of our journey today as we flew from Columbus to Toronto, I took out my journal from my first trip and read the detailed notes from the people we had interviewed.  I was fascinated by their stories of nonviolent resistance in the face of oppression, and now I’m ready to learn more.  And so I promise to write a few blogposts as I travel in the next ten days.  I hope you will join me for a virtual journey through Israel/Palestine, as we visit with Muslims, Christians, Jews, bishops, rabbis, UN officials, Bedouins, villagers, farmers, and more.

You may sign up to receive email notices on this blog page.  Or you might find notices of new posts on my Facebook page.

For now, we are gathering our energy here in the food court as we prepare for a 10+ hour flight to Tel Aviv. Talk to you later!

IMG_0723.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

